A Brand New Day

A place to celebrate everything wonderful!

Moderator: pmaxwell

A Brand New Day

Postby elvenkayt » Tue Apr 07, 2009 3:32 pm

Hi everyone,
I had my PFD on January 9, so I am 3 months post-op. I'm going to tell you my whole story, so you know just how much my life has improved since surgery.
I believe I started having symptoms back in October of 2006, when I was going through a particularly difficult physical training program through my ship. I'd been having headaches that were intense, but didn't last very long, so I never really gave them any thought. I also developed unexplainable, severe sciatica and was later diagnosed with fibromyalgia. Since I was in the Navy at the time, this definitely put my career on hold. In the Navy I was a Nuclear Electronics Technician and was an overachieving First Class Petty Officer. In the Navy, I was used to succeeding at everything I attempted, so coming upon all these mystery medical problems really frustrated me. I started falling asleep at the wheel when I was driving, but tested negative for narcolepsy and sleep apnea. I was given a desk job that was much easier than my job on the ship, but I continued to decline. Eventually, after over a year of physical therapy and other procedures, the Navy medically retired me in May of 2008.