Cleveland Clinic question

Have a question about a symptom, procedure, medication, diagnosis, research, or coping? Ask questions and share what you know with others

Moderator: pmaxwell

Cleveland Clinic question

Postby twins617 » Tue Jun 12, 2012 1:42 pm

I have a very important question. My CM1 has come back worse than ever. I want the best doctor possible to look thru my MRIs & paperwork & if necessary, do my surgery. Has anyone been to the Cleveland Clinic to have their CM done? I am having very serious problems & desperate need ya'lls help, please. I have a doctor here that has told me that the Chiari is causing my problems. Thank you very, very much. Love U all. Take care. Vickie
twins617

Re: Cleveland Clinic question

Postby DEN » Tue Jun 12, 2012 3:00 pm

While I have no actual experience with CC and CM, I can tell you that among the health care world, CC is a very good place and have an excellent staff.

I know that this information does not help, but you are going in the right direction with CC.

I am sure others with actual experience will chim in.

Good luck,
Supporter of a loved one with SM.
DEN

Postby jessica » Sat Jun 16, 2012 7:23 pm

I did not have my surgery there but I did see Dr. Benzel at the Cleveland Clinic. I'm military and was being seen by a military neurosurgeon and my family wanted me to get a second opinion before going forward with surgery. My mother has a close friend who used to work for the Cleveland Clinic and she did the research to find out who the best was supposed to be. She came up with Dr. Benzel.

He is very conservative about surgery, so when he told me that he agreed with my military doc that I should go ahead I pretty much knew I was making the right decision. Even though he knew I was really only there for a second opinion he and his staff gave me a very thorough exam and answered all of my questions. I would have been comfortable getting the surgery done there.