SM C4-T1

Have a question about a symptom, procedure, medication, diagnosis, research, or coping? Ask questions and share what you know with others

Moderator: pmaxwell

SM C4-T1

Postby julia » Thu Dec 13, 2007 6:59 pm

Hello, I'm relatively new to this however not new to the pain and suffering that I have been going through the past couple years but only now finding out what it is we are dealing with. First, I would like to tell you how comforting it is to know there are others like me out there. I have basically shut myself in and stopped answering the phone since I can't face to tell any of my friends, Yes, I'm still sick. Or, no I'm not any better. I hate to be the rain on the parade. I'm just beginning to understand what's happening to me and I find it hard to explain to them. So thank you for all the anwers and information you have provided for me.
I was a high energy person until about 2 years ago when I started feeling extreme weakness and a dead arm sensation. I couldn't sleep enough and would come home from work 5:30 and go right to bed. The doctor treated me for depression but I could not take anything since my bladder would go crazy all night long. I already have a bowel disease so I didn't want to mess with activating that too which usually comes on when I don't sleep well. I have tried many different anti-depressants (Paxil,celexa,effexor etc) but all of them caused terrible bladder retention. If anyone has anything that worked for them please tell me. I understand now after research that syringomyelia causes bowel and bladder problems. Now I understand why I have Crohn's disease.
I am having a terrible time dealing with SM since I was very active before, mother of 3 children and a very rewarding career. I have become extremely depressed and really need some help in dealling with my conditon. It is surprizing to me how little my family doctor knows about this condition.