Confused

Have a child with SM/Chiari? Share issues unique to children and their caregivers.

Moderator: pmaxwell

Confused

Postby AutumnB » Tue Oct 13, 2009 10:55 am

My son age 12 was just diagnosed a few weeks ago so I'm very new to all of this. The thing that I go over in my head is surgery. I'm feeling conflicted. Of course surgery is the last thing I want for my child, but what are the risks of not having surgery? For now he has had no headaches. He has been affected with IH specifically double vision. He is being treated with Diamox which seems to be working. If the CSF is being cut off due to the Chiari wouldn't that mean that surgery was needed? If he does not have surgery things could get worse, correct? I just keep hearing surgery is a last option (which I agree) I just don't know when it becomes necessary before further risk.
I don't even know if that makes sense. I'm in a fog. Any advice would be helpful.
Thanks
Autumn
AutumnB

Re: Confused

Postby Sara » Tue Oct 13, 2009 1:10 pm

Have you seen a nsg? IH can be a serious complication of Chiari.When you have papilledema or a syrinx, surgery is usually considered earilier than in patients who do not have these symptoms. what state do you live in? Someone may know of a surgeon near you.
Sara
Sara
Site Admin

Postby AutumnB » Tue Oct 13, 2009 4:10 pm

I'm in Southern CA. I did already get a list of preferred Neurologist in my area. Unfortunately, I'm caught up in the HMO wars on who they will let us see. I plan to get a second opinion even if it's out of pocket, but if we find out he does need surgery then what? It is so scary. We are already paying way too much for insurance and our other son had 3 surgeries (unrelated to Chairi/IH) last year. FRUSTRATING to say the least.
AutumnB

Postby lttutrow » Tue Oct 13, 2009 5:36 pm