new to cm

Have a child with SM/Chiari? Share issues unique to children and their caregivers.

Moderator: pmaxwell

new to cm

Postby cmmom » Mon Oct 01, 2007 1:58 pm

My son just had an mri , the report says there is tonsillar herniation with beaking and the fourth ventrilcle is seen in the posterior fossa do you or anyone know what this means . does this mean he has cm, also can any one reccomend a neuro surgeon in ny thanks sharon
cmmom

cm

Postby brianfsmom » Tue Oct 02, 2007 1:38 pm

Hi

are you in NYC?

There are several excellent surgeons in NYC:

Dr. Wisoff at NYU
Dr. Feldstein at Columbia Presbyterian
Dr. Souweidane at NY Hospital (Cornell)
Montefiore Medical Center (Dr. Abbott and another doctor, I forget his name right now)

to name a few.

Also, the chiari institute is on Long Island, not far from you. Many people swear by them, I have no personal experience. We saw all the doctors above and would have felt comfortable with any of them.

The 4th ventricle in the posterior fossa could be CM2 - you really should get an expert to look at the films; don't rely on the radiologist report!

Good luck, please let us know how you make out. Dr. Souweidane did my son's decompression. He is doing well. He's extremely nice and will spend all the time you need explaining the situation. Actually, all of those doctors will do that. They are all wonderful people.
brianfsmom

Postby cmmom » Wed Oct 03, 2007 2:13 am