14 Year Old Daughter Newly Diagnosed

Have a child with SM/Chiari? Share issues unique to children and their caregivers.

Moderator: pmaxwell

14 Year Old Daughter Newly Diagnosed

Postby jonesjam » Mon Jan 14, 2008 4:22 pm

:roll: Good afternoon. I am new to the CM world. I have a 14 year old daughter who has been having severe headaches and chronic fatigue for the past few months. We have seen rheumatologist and a neurologist. Her MRI just came back showing CM with the spinal cysts. On Friday she has 3 other MRIs to look at the spine (they couldn't tell how big the cyst was), the flow of CSF fluid, and an MRI of hte head with contrast. Her neurologist is trying to tell me her headaches and fatique aren't related... I am having buying into that. When you ask her where her head hurts, she holds the back of her head. Does anyone know any doctors at Scott & White in Temple, TX? Her neurologist is working on getting her an appointment with a neurosurgeon. What do we need to know? We had a 40 and 60 year old in our community have this surgery within the last year. I hope it is easier when you are 14. It was a pretty rough and long recovery for both of them. We are also concerned about the symptoms coming back, how do you know when thier symptoms are bad enough to have surgery. This is a great resource and website. I have learned a lot just from looking around on the site.
jonesjam

Postby willsmom » Mon Jan 14, 2008 5:53 pm

Hi Jonesjam,

Welcome! My 14-year-old son was diagnosed in early September with CM and syringomyelia. He too underwent the battery of MRIs just as you described what your daughter will have. We live in Plano, just outside of Dallas. They sedated my son b/c the MRIs took about 4 hours and no one could be still for that long! He did just fine.