Need help with son (long, sorry!)

Have a child with SM/Chiari? Share issues unique to children and their caregivers.

Moderator: pmaxwell

Need help with son (long, sorry!)

Postby hipmummyk » Sat Mar 01, 2008 3:58 pm

Hi all

I am new to the pediatrics side of things, but have been on ASAP for a couple of months now. I have CM (and not sure what else yet- I am going to TCI in a couple of weeks). I have some questions about one of my kids and need some help with what direction to take with this.

Ok, some background info first: My son will be 11 at the end of the month. He was born at 42 weeks by emergency c-section (according to the doc he was presenting face-first because he had a big lump on his forehead that went away fairly quickly, and my pelvic opening was too small).

This child had incredible head control from birth, and his gross motor skills developed rapidly. he was a colicky infant and hated being held sideways and hated being laid on his back or stomach. He was happiest when he was upright so he could look around. He became quite a headbanger and would frequently headbang against my chest or face, and eventually against the wall or the refrigerator. He was quite healthy, apart from the usual kiddie runny nose.

He had night terrors, or so we thought, because he would wake up screaming at night. This lasted for a number of years. He always seemed agitated by something. He also wet the bed until he was in 2nd grade, and he still "dribbles" on occasion and will have a wet spot the size of a nickel, sometimes a quarter, on the front of his underpants.

He has always been quite hyper, but when he isn't hyper he can be quite lethargic. He was diagnosed with PDD-NOS at the end of second grade, having been dx'ed with ADHD the year before.

He sleeps in a fetal position most of the time (makes me wonder about tethered cord).