2016 ASAP Chiari & Syringomyelia Conference

Thank you to Kohl’s for providing volunteers to assist during the conference.

Drs Ulrich Batzdorf and Arnold Menezes have been speaking at ASAP conferences for over 25 years.

Many of those years Dr Batzdoft has celebrated his birthday with us.

Dr Gerald Grant hosted this year’s conference.

2016 Conference Speakers

A very special thank you to the speakers who made the ASAP Chiari and Syringomyelia Conference world class! The meeting was recorded and videos will be available online later this year or early 2017.

Ulrich Batzdorf, MD -– Professor of Spinal Neurosurgery, UCLA School of Medicine, Los Angeles, CA

Sumit Bhargava, MD — Clinical Associate Professor, Pediatrics – Pulmonary Medicine, Stanford University, Stanford, CA

Nancy Block, PT — Silicon Valley EDS Support Group

Paolo Bolognese, MD -– Neurosurgeon, Director of the Chiari Neurosurgical Center NSPC, Lake Success, NY

Ian Carroll, MD, MS — Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine at the Stanford University Medical Center, Stanford, CA

May Casazza, NP -– Neurosurgery, Stanford Children’s Health, Stanford, CA

Sam Cheshier MD PhD — Assistant Professor of Neurosurgery, Stanford University, Stanford, CA

Brian Dlouhy, MD — Assistant Professor, Neurosurgery, University of Iowa Children’s Hospital, Iowa City, IA

Michael Edwards, MD — Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital Professor in Pediatric Neurosurgery, Stanford University, Stanford, CA

Karen Friday, MD -– Cardiac Electrophysiologist, Stanford University, Stanford, CA

Timothy George, MD -– Medical Director of the Pediatric Neurosurgery Center of Central Texas at Dell Children’s, Austin, TX

Brenda Golianu, MD — Associate Professor of Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine (Pediatric) at the Stanford University Medical Center, Stanford University, Stanford, CA

John D Heiss, MD -– Head Clinical Unit, Surgical Neurology Branch, NINDS/ NIH, Bethesda, MD

Nicole Hodgeboom, CPNP, CNS — Pediatric Nurse Practitioner, Integrated Pediatric Pain and Palliative Care Team Stanford University, Stanford, CA

David Hong, MD — Clinical Assistant Professor, Neurosurgery, Stanford University, Stanford, CA

Bermans Iskandar, MD – Director of the Pediatric Neurosurgery Program, University of WI, Madison, WI

Line Jacques, MD — Professor of Clinical Neurological Surgery, Chief of Peripheral Nerve and Pain Surgery University of California, San Francisco, CA

Susy Jeng, MD — Clinical Assistant Professor, Neurology & Neurological Sciences, Stanford University, Stanford, CA

Robert Keating, MD -– Chief of Neurosurgery, Children’s National Medical Center, Washington, DC

Roger Kula, MD -– Director, the Chiari Institute, Great Neck, NY

Jeff Lazarus MD, FAAP -– Pediatrician, Medical Hypnosis Specialist, Menlo Park, CA

AnhThu, Lewis, NP -– Pain Management, Stanford University, Stanford, CA

Dave Limbrick MD — Chief, Pediatric Neurosurgery, Associate Professor, Neurological Surgery, Associate Professor, Pediatrics Neurosurgeon-in-Chief, St. Louis Children’s Hospital, Washington University, St. Louis, MO

Tina Loven DO -– Neurological Surgeon, Mercy Hospital, Springfield, MO

Arnold Menezes, MD — Vice Chairman, Professor of Neurosurgery, University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine, Iowa City, IA

Harold Rekate, MD — Professor, Hofstra Northwell School of Medicine, Great Neck, NY

Doug Sidell, MD -– Associate Professor Pediatric Otolaryngology/Head Neck Surgery, Stanford, Palo Alto, CA

Aintzane Urbizu, PhD -– Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Duke, Durham, NC

Anand Veeragavu, MD -– Stanford University, Stanford, CA

Erol Veznedaroglu, MD, FACS, FAANS, FAHA — Director, Drexel Neurosciences Institute; Robert A. Groff Chair in Neurosurgery, Philadelphia, PA

Selda Yildiz, PhD -– Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, GA

An last but definitely not least, Gerald Grant, MD, FACS, of Stanford University School of Medicine to made it all happen!

ASAP 2016 Volunteer Awards

Each year we take time to honor those who truly make ASAP shine – our volunteers!

Our 2016 recipients are:

Barbara White Award – ASAP’s most prestigious award. It is given in recognition of outstanding contributions to further the efforts of our co-founder, Barbara White. Recipients demonstrate long-term commitment to the cause by being active in many areas of the organization. This year we are honored to give the award in memory of a lady who served as a support group leader, Board Director and parent of a child with these disorders. She was a true example of strength in gentility, courage in grace and lovingly loyal.

    Renee Tobias

Key Volunteer Awards – These volunteers play a vital role in helping ASAP open new doors through their service and contributions.

    Michael “Yogi” Borys
    Bridget Borys

Shining Star Volunteers – A shining example of volunteerism at its best, these volunteers continuous efforts go above and beyond.

    Molly Lichtenstein
    Sheila Raineyong>

Visionary Awards – Volunteers who are committed to furthering the goals of ASAP by donating their time and talents to keep ASAP moving forward.

    Lisa Dunton-Roy

Helping Hand Volunteers – Our Helping Hand volunteers help keep ASAP running smoothly! By giving their time, energy and/or talents, they help us to further our mission.

    Patti Davis
    Christine Grabowski
    Ann Humphries
    Michele McGraw
    Staci Nein
    Austin Rodriguez
    Wendy Schwoyer
    Lauren Talarico, BS, DVM, DACVIM
    Connor Yung

Outgoing Board Members – The Board of Directors is the final authority on operation of the American
Syringomyelia Alliance Project, Inc. (“ASAP”). It has complete responsibility for the control and management of the affairs, funds and property of ASAP including, but not limited to, final approval of the budget and other fiscal matters, approval of all policies, and delegation of policy implementation. Board members serve a 3 year term and can serve two continual terms.

    Lori Tutrow – term: 2012-2015
    John Heiss, MD – term: 2008-2015